The Pearson Teaching Awards

Celebrating transformational teaching

Gold Winners

2018 Shortlist announced

In its 20th year, the Pearson Teaching Awards is delighted to publish the shortlist of individuals and schools who could go on to win a prestigious Silver award, and ultimately one of 12 Gold Plato awards, the “Oscars” for teachers.

The shortlist includes outstanding teachers, lecturers, teaching assistants and heads across schools and colleges in England, Northern Ireland and Wales.

What happens next?

  • June 22nd – Silver Winners will be announced in celebrations in schools and colleges across the country.
  • July 4th – Silver Winners attend a celebratory Tea at the House of Commons. Click here to see photos from last year’s event.
  • October 21st – The UK Ceremony will take place in London. Previous award presenters have included former prime ministers David Cameron and Tony Blair, acting legends Jenny Agutter, Alison Steadman and Joanna Lumley, and sports and TV personalities including Shirley Ballas, Davina McCall and Helen Glover.  The ceremony is filmed and broadcast by the BBC.
  • October 28th – Teaching Awards UK Ceremony televised as ‘Britain’s Classroom Heroes’, a showcase of excellence in education. View clips from previous UK ceremonies here.

The Pearson Teaching Awards are an annual celebration of exceptional teachers, founded in 1998 by Lord Puttnam to recognise the life-changing impact an inspirational teacher can have on the lives of the young people they teach.

Thank you to everyone who took part in the 2018 Pearson Teaching Awards.  This year was, once again, an excellent year for participation. The stories that we have heard from schools and colleges across the UK have been simply inspirational and our judges have had a tremendously difficult task in shortlisting finalists.

Click here to view the full shortlist.